Confessions of an Inspiration Addict, or why I started this blog

Children never fail to inspire me

I’m an inspiration addict.

Everywhere I look I am floored by beauty and humanity and love – the fog-dampened buildings in the city’s ancient heart rising from the sides of concrete rivers; the playful girl with the sparkling eyes sitting two seats in front of me on the bus; sunlight sparkling across the harbour on a Saturday morning; the man in my volunteer group who covered his shoes in glitter just to light up the faces of strangers he passes on the way to the corner store. Inspiration is everywhere.

My favourite kind of inspiration is the people kind. I have been lucky enough to meet a hundred inspiring people in my lifetime (probably more). Their courage, generosity, creativity, and passion moves me. It encourages me to be my best self; makes me proud to be a fellow human. I try to learn from the everyday heroes I meet – how did they take their first step on the path towards peace (both inner and outer) and passion? What inspired them? What have they learned? And how can I follow in their footsteps?

The world is full of inspiring people. This blog is my personal excuse to talk to as many of them as possible, to emulate them, to learn how to be the change I want to see in the world. I hope it may also be helpful for other inspiration addicts.

About Cassandra

Hi, I'm Cassandra. I work in fundraising, love travelling, and am fascinated by how we can inspire one another to greatness and spread human kindness. Connect with me on twitter @cassandra_nz

3 comments

  1. johnlmalone

    it looks like you’ve only been doing this blog a short time. You are doing a wonderful service profiling inspirational people. You certainly deserve more readers.

  2. Hi John,
    Thanks so much – I’m glad you like what I’m doing. Yes, I only started a week or so ago. Please feel free to share the site with friends who are looking for inspiration. I hope to profile everyday heroes who are making a positive difference in their communitites.
    Also, if you know anyone you think I should feature, please email me their details and a bit about what they’re doing so I can get in touch.
    Peace,
    Cassandra
    dontbrandme@gmail.com

  3. johnlmalone

    shall do

I love to hear from you. Please share your ideas and comments:

