Webspiration #4 (Christmas edition)

Christmas can be a little stressful...

Christmas can make me ratty – it’s an expensive time of year; there are crowds that sweep me up and jostle me down the road as soon as I step outside; ads shout at me from every corner to buy, buy, buy – assaulting both my eyes and my ears; I suffer sporadic panic attacks that I won’t get all my work done before everything shuts down for Christmas; that quiet dread that the gift I have chosen each loved one just isn’t perfect enough; fear of hurting someone’s feelings by not sending a card or a token gift. Other people get ratty too. It makes the tone of the season unpleasant at times.

Yet Christmas is supposed to be joyful. It’s about giving – not the perfect gift, not material things, but giving time to one another, giving genuine love and appreciation.

Let’s celebrate what’s great about Christmas – people giving to people – with a special Christmas themed webspiration:

1.   The London-based Kindness Offensive make Christmas special through large-scale random acts of Christmas kindness

2.   Layaway angels have been spreading Christmas joy across the United States

3.   Have you heard the one about the Swedish salesman and the Santa suit? Now, that is customer service that brings the warm fuzzies back into Christmas!

4.   Try a Christmas of Kindness with one of these great ideas to make Christmas special

Want some inspiration to make a change in your Christmas habits next year? Watch this short video from adventconspiracy.org (it’s based on Christian values but I think the message is meaningful whatever your beliefs):

Merry Christmas and happy holidays!

About Cassandra

Hi, I'm Cassandra. I work in fundraising, love travelling, and am fascinated by how we can inspire one another to greatness and spread human kindness. Connect with me on twitter @cassandra_nz

2 comments

  1. I was absolutely inspired and in awe of the layaway angel stories! It is so wonderful to hear about people doing good unto others without anything expected in return. If only the Christmas spirit could extend throughout the entire year!

  2. I love it too – it’s a great reminder that good people are everywhere. Maybe we can make it one of our new year’s resolution to extend that Christmas spirit throughout the year and practice random acts of kindness.
    Thanks for stopping by :-)

I love to hear from you. Please share your ideas and comments:

