Dinka Basuki: Human sunshine

Dinka and I at the National Monument in Jakarta

I’m currently in Jakarta on business. Today I met up with a friend. Her name is Dinka and she is like human sunshine. She has a way of brightening the room when she walks in. Dinka and I used to work together in New Zealand but now she has returned home to her native Indonesia.

Today she showed me and some of my colleagues around her hometown.

Her smile, friendly information, good-hearted translation, and general cheery mood made the day a joy for us all. She helped us negotiate the sweaty crowds at the National Monument, explained some of the nation’s history, served as official camera woman for all the locals who asked to have pictures with us, and taught us how to eat rice with our hands.

I think it is worth remembering that one of the most important ways we can make a positive difference in this world is simply to be kind.

Thank you, Dinka, for using your Sunday to make us all feel so welcome in Jakarta.

About Cassandra

Hi, I'm Cassandra. I work in fundraising, love travelling, and am fascinated by how we can inspire one another to greatness and spread human kindness. Connect with me on twitter @cassandra_nz

I love to hear from you. Please share your ideas and comments:

