Webspiration #8 – Using social media for social good

Social media gets the thumbs up for social influence (source: mombizcoach.com)

Social media gets the thumbs up for social influence (source: mombizcoach.com)

I’m going through a burst of inspiration and learning at the moment.

Next month I’m starting a new job and the excitement, coupled with the fact that I am currently travelling at my leisure with plenty of time on my hands, has lead me to devour information and inspiration at a record rate.

As a key focus for me when I start will be digital communications and raising awareness for the cause, I’ve been reading a lot about social media, growing an audience, and increasing your impact.

Everyone who wants to change the world learns sooner or later that you can’t do it alone. You need to connect with like-minded people to take action and you need an audience of passionate people who care.

Today I share with you some of the best articles I’ve read on how to use social media for social good. Enjoy!

1. Get your ducks in a row first

Rebecca Ruby Higman shares with us the 10 things you need to get sorted BEFORE you dive into Social Media. This includes getting your website sorted, your blog rolling, and your SEO thought through.

2. Grow an audience using other people’s content

Jamie Beckland explains how content curation can help you build an audience for your cause and messages while taking the pressure off the need to constantly create compelling new content, which takes a lot of time.

3. Going viral is a good thing

Melissa Raimondi encourages non-profits to use memes to spread the message. Have fun, create a meme, spread the word.

4. Understand social contagion

James Fowler explains the science of spreading the word. Messages are amplified and more powerful when they spread naturally. And it matters who is doing the spreading.

*I’d love to hear your advice too, please comment below and share your tips for social media success

About Cassandra

Hi, I'm Cassandra. I work in fundraising, love travelling, and am fascinated by how we can inspire one another to greatness and spread human kindness. Connect with me on twitter @cassandra_nz

3 comments

  1. It sounds like an exciting time for you! Good luck in your new job Cassandra!

I love to hear from you. Please share your ideas and comments:

